Formula 1

2020 Formula 1 calendar officially approved by FIA

Formula 1’s 2020 calendar has been officially signed off by the FIA, following a meeting of its World Motor Sport Council on Friday.

The 22-race schedule, which is the biggest in F1 history, will begin in Australia on March 15 and conclude in Abu Dhabi on November 29.

The two new events being added to the schedule, Vietnam on April 5 and the returning Dutch GP on May 3, are both subject to their circuits being officially homologated.

F1 has also confirmed that there will be two three-day tests prior to the start of the season, with both taking place at Barcelona.

The first test will run from February 19-21, while the second will take place from February 26-28.

The WMSC discussed a number of changes to the 2020 sporting regulations too.

These are expected to include the addition of a number of reverse grid qualifying races as an experiment ahead of the 2021 F1 revamp, but these proposals will only be signed off by a later electronic vote.

2020 F1 calendar

Date Grand Prix Venue
March 15 Australia Melbourne
March 22 Bahrain Sakhir
April 5 Vietnam Hanoi
April 19 China Shanghai
May 3 Netherlands Zandvoort
May 10 Spain Barcelona
May 24 Monaco Monaco
June 7 Azerbaijan Baku
June 14 Canada Montreal
June 28 France Paul Ricard
July 5 Austria Red Bull Ring
July 19 Britain Silverstone
August 2 Hungary Hungaroring
August 30 Belgium Spa
September 6 Italy Monza
September 20 Singapore Marina Bay
September 27 Russia Sochi
October 11 Japan Suzuka
October 25 United States Austin
November 1 Mexico Mexico City
November 15 Brazil Interlagos
November 29 Abu Dhabi Yas Marina

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *